Scholarships for Pakistani Students in China

In order to promote mutual understanding, cooperation and exchange between the people of China and Pakistan, the Chinese government has set up a series of scholarship programs to sponsor international students, teachers and scholars to study and conduct research in Chinese universities.

China Scholarship Council (hereinafter referred to as CSC), entrusted by the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China (hereinafter referred to as MOE), is responsible for the enrollment and the administration of Chinese Government Scholarship programs. More than 250 designated Chinese universities offer a wide variety of academic programs in Science, Engineering, Agriculture, Medicine, Economics, Legal Studies, Management, Education, History, Literature, Philosophy, and Fine Arts for scholarship recipients at all levels.

All scholarships are created with the objective of acting as a culture bridge between the people of China, Pakistan, and rest of the world. They target a wide range of international students who wish to further precede their studies in China and foster a better socio-cultural understanding of the region.

    •  Chinese Government Scholarship - Chinese University Program

    Chinese University Program is a full scholarship for designated Chinese universities and certain provincial education offices in specific provinces or autonomous regions to recruit outstanding international students for graduate studies in China. It only supports graduate students.

    •  Chinese Government Scholarship - Great Wall Program

    The Great Wall Program is a full scholarship established by the Chinese Ministry of Education for the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) to sponsor students and scholars in developing countries to study and conduct research in China.

    •  2016 MOFCOM Scholarship

    MOFCOM Scholarship supports Master’s program for 2-3 years or PhD program for 3-4 years. Scholarship winners must register for English-taught program if such program is available. When only Chinese-taught program is available, students should take Chinese language training courses for one to two years before moving on to their degree study.

    •  Chinese Government Scholarship - Bilateral Program

    Bilateral Program includes a full or partial scholarship established by MOE in accordance with educational exchange agreements or consensus between Chinese government and governments of other countries, institutions, universities or international organizations. The program supports undergraduate students, graduate students, general scholars and senior scholars.

Top Chinese Universities – The C9 League

The C9 League was established by the Chinese central government on May 4, 1998 with the goal of advancing the Chinese higher education system. The establishment of the C9 League was a part of the Chinese central government's Project 985. In the first phase, the nine universities were selected and allocated funding for an initial period of three years. On October 10, 2009, these nine universities made up the C9 League.

The aim of the C9 is to serve as a network of elite universities to improve education and research in China. More importantly, they have committed themselves to world-class excellence. However, the central government also directs special resources to a number of other universities outside the C9 League to ensure that they reach the goal to become world class universities.